If you have an email ending in @hotmail.com, @live.com or @outlook.com (or any other Microsoft-related domain), please consider changing it to another email provider; Microsoft decided to instantly block the server's IP, so emails can't be sent to these addresses.
If you use an @yahoo.com email or any related Yahoo services, they have blocked us also due to "user complaints"
-UE

General writing discussion.

Comments

• Chagen: Copyright issues.
  • edited 2011-07-20 12:24:01
    Mr. The Edge goes to Washington
    One of the greatest feelings I've felt as a writer is to see my creation come to life in the form of a videogame or a short film.
  • Videogame writer?
  • edited 2011-07-20 13:05:50
    Mr. The Edge goes to Washington

Otherwise known as a scenario writer, I think...

• Okay, so I want to write this story that starts out depressing at first, but gets more optimistic as time goes on.

The problem is, the beginning is filled with such Deus Angst Machina that it's ridiculous and quickly reaches Darkness Induced Audience Apathy levels.

How do those cynical works do it? How do they remain depressing and cynical yet not so much that it becomes absurd?
  • One foot in front of the other, every day.
    Because they cast their own cynicism as a perspective rather than absolute truth.
  • ...Care to explain?
    Yes, but I'm on my iPhone right now. When I get to a PC, I'll elaborate.
  • Chagen: Copyright issues.

Is that supposed to be referring to his "why won't it be stolen if posted online" question?
  • I thought publishers didn't take stuff that was on the internet because they were snobs and didn't think it was "real" writing.
  • You can change. You can.
    Publishers don't give a crap about quality. What they care for is profit.

The word you're looking for is "Editor".