If you have an email ending in @hotmail.com, @live.com or @outlook.com (or any other Microsoft-related domain), please consider changing it to another email provider; Microsoft decided to instantly block the server's IP, so emails can't be sent to these addresses.
If you use an @yahoo.com email or any related Yahoo services, they have blocked us also due to "user complaints"
-UE

Consistently terrible books in English class (OBLIGATORY SUBJECTIVITY WARNING)

2»

Comments

• My literature education was entirely self-taught. So I could pick and choose what I wanted to read.

Twelfth Night is fun.

• I've always heard people say harsh things about Ayn Rand, but it wasn't until I read Atlas Shrugged in English class that I could say that I agreed with them.

I wouldn't mind the horrible message it gives so much if it weren't for the fact that it's so terribly written. There was a speech in it that went on for over fifty pages!

• BeeBee
    edited 2012-05-19 22:58:27

Yeah, I mean at least other writers with abhorrent world views were mercifully up-front about things and didn't agonize you with the tedium of a hackneyed, overwrought "story" before getting to their manifesto.

In this way, Ayn Rand is actually worse than Hitler.

And what the fuck kind of English class made you read that?!

• Give us fire! Give us ruin! Give us our glory!

^^You poor soul.

• I had to read Anthem in my first year of high school. I liked it at the time, but in retrospect that's kind of messed up.

• Ugh, I remember reading Lord of the Flies in high school. Almost got drowned under all the f***ing "symbolism".

• ^Heh, I remember that book. All of those mentions of "creepers" make me think of something else other than vines. (Are the creepers in Minecraft supposed to be plants?)

• edited 2012-05-20 02:14:06
    I don't quite remember what we did in my English classes, but I'm pretty sure it didn't involve symbolism analysis. Did I just get lucky or what?