If you have an email ending in @hotmail.com, @live.com or @outlook.com (or any other Microsoft-related domain), please consider changing it to another email provider; Microsoft decided to instantly block the server's IP, so emails can't be sent to these addresses.
If you use an @yahoo.com email or any related Yahoo services, they have blocked us also due to "user complaints"
-UE

There's really no logical reason to believe in religion.

edited 2011-01-10 01:49:58 in Philosophy
Pony Sleuth
There really isn't. Not sure I have much else to say.

(I think we also needed this thread.)

Comments

• No there isn't. AT ALL. It does make for nice comfort and/or a crutch though.
  • Funniest thing is that even if the existence of God can be proven (and there were several good attempts, convincing enough for me, at least. Then again, I am not good at phylosophy at all, so my opinion on the matter proves nothing), it still does mot give any basis for this or that religion.

However, every single ethnic group has some sort of religious beliefs. Every single one. So it seems that regardless of logical reasons, psychological reasons for it's existence are damn important.

Also, one does not have to believe in supernatural to have what effectively is religion.

As for this one, my my question about religion right now is not "if this is true" (this is irrelevant), but "would it be a good thing if it was true", "are the actions required of me by religion/philosophy/ideology in question are virtuous and just ones". Wish anyone could answer that without looking at religion/philosophy/ideology itself as a justification...
  • Why believe in religion when you can fear a God?
  • I told you a hundred times Seibah, I don't want you in my pool