If you have an email ending in @hotmail.com, @live.com or @outlook.com (or any other Microsoft-related domain), please consider changing it to another email provider; Microsoft decided to instantly block the server's IP, so emails can't be sent to these addresses.
If you use an @yahoo.com email or any related Yahoo services, they have blocked us also due to "user complaints"
-UE

Environment-related webinars, film screenings, events, etc.

edited 2016-10-11 16:42:44 in Webspace
I'm currently looking for these, because I'm interested in these things and I'm also stuck in a part of the world where not enough happens in meatspace around me.  So I end up finding out about webinars because they're in webspace.  And many of these are public webinars which means that YOU can join them too!

And while I'm at it let's also throw in film screenings and other events.

If you know of some yourself, feel free to post them.

----

Here are a few to start us off.

UF Climate Communications Summit: Higher Ground: Science, Storytelling and the Climb Toward Better Understanding of Climate Change
https://floridaclimateinstitute.org/events/upcoming/florida/2032-oct-12-2016-university-of-florida-climate-communications-summit-gainesville-fl
12 October 2016, 3 PM to 5:30 PM EDT (7 PM to 9:30 PM GMT)

Ahead of the Tide - a webinar series about sea level rise, especially in relation to the southeast Florida metropolitan area.
Sign up for them here.  http://aheadofthetide.org/webinars/
Also check out their 10-part short video series!  http://aheadofthetide.org/videos/
the last four webinars are at 4 PM to 5 PM EDT (8 PM to 9 PM GMT) on the following days:
13 October
20 October
27 October
3 November

Facing the Surge, a documentary by Adaptation Now about sea level rise, being shown by the Citizens' Climate Lobby on their "2016 Coastal Tour" of the east coast of the United States.
http://www.adaptationnow.com/coastaltour/
Showings began on 9 September and will end on 22 November.  The exact date depends on your city -- check the site to see whether there's a showing near you.  Signups are also linked through that site.  There may be more showings yet to be confirmed (such as a possible October 19th screening in Fort Lauderdale, FL).

Resources for the Future: The Role of Carbon Pricing in Implementing the Paris Agreement
It's about the idea of putting a price tag on the carbon dioxide emissions that drive anthropogenic climate change, as a way to help implement the 2015 Paris Agreement on climate change.
http://www.rff.org/events/event/2016-10/role-carbon-pricing-implementing-paris-agreement
19 October, 12:30 PM to 2 PM EDT (4:30 PM to 6 PM GMT)
You don't need to register to watch the webcast; just go to their site at the time of the webinar.  If you do register though, you get e-mail reminders.
If you're in the DC area you can even go there and get some free food before the event starts.  Do register if you're planning on going, of course.

World Wildlife Fund, Fuller Symposium: 2 Degrees Later: Resilience in a Changing World
https://www.worldwildlife.org/pages/fuller-symposium-2016-2-degrees-later
The physical event is at the National Geographic Society's headquarters in Washington, DC.  It'll also be webcast.
The topic is climate resiliency -- how climate change will affect people and ecosystems and what we might be able to do about that.  There will probably be an emphasis on conservation and ecology, given that it's the WWF organizing this.
15 November.  It's a whole-day event with multiple sessions, lasting from 9 AM to 6:30 PM EST (2 PM to 11:30 PM GMT), so you can tune in for just some sessions if it's more convenient for you.  I think you need to sign up for it.

Comments

Sign In or Register to comment.