If you have an email ending in @hotmail.com, @live.com or @outlook.com (or any other Microsoft-related domain), please consider changing it to another email provider; Microsoft decided to instantly block the server's IP, so emails can't be sent to these addresses.
If you use an @yahoo.com email or any related Yahoo services, they have blocked us also due to "user complaints"
-UE

Why do most people hate math?

GAPGAP
edited 2014-01-01 19:28:28 in General

I'll admit that I am not that good at math although I think my skill level is average as I managed to get to Algebra II. With that said, why do most people hate? Is it because it is abstract? IS it because people that the subject is forced down their throats? Or is it something? I know Math is an important subject as keep our society together and functioning yet most people despise as it appears to be the case of, "You cannot live it, you cannot live without it." situations.

Comments

• a little muffled

Because it's taught poorly in school and because it's a meme that you're supposed to hate math.

• I realized I liked math when we saw second-degree equations. I thought an equation having two solutions was the most awesome shit ever. So I guess being easily impressionable helps.

• Because math, for the most part, mainly involves tediously repeating a process that you've commited to memory over and over again. It isn't until much later (as in, university-level) that math involves any kind of actual thinking.

• Only if you have a shitty teacher.  Good math exercises are puzzles.

• I don't hate math.

I'm just bad at it.

• if u do convins fashist akwaint hiz faec w pavment neway jus 2 b sur

Only if you have a shitty teacher.  Good math exercises are puzzles.

This.